God is Holy #4

Holiness means to be set apart or separation. God is transcendent, distinct from all of His creation.

God is separate from moral evil, sin. A good description of God would be Majestic Purity or Majestic Ethics. God is morally pure. Holiness is God’s primary attribute and I think the one that He would want us to Know Him by.

Because God is absolutely Holy, sinners must be separated from Him unless a way can be found to constitute them holy. Do you have any guesses how that way has been provided? Is it by my merits or the merits of someone else?

The prophet Zechariah spoke of a day when everything on earth will be holy to the LORD –  Zech. 14:20-21 On that day Holy to the lord will be inscribed on the bells of the horses, and the cooking pots in the Lord’s house will be like the sacred bowls in front of the altar. 21Every pot in Jerusalem and Judah will be holy to the Lord Almighty, and all who come to sacrifice will take some of the pots and cook in them. And on that day there will no longer be a Canaanite in the house of the Lord Almighty.

 Exodus 15:1 Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to the Lord: “I will sing to the Lord, for he is highly exalted. The horse and its rider he has hurled into the sea.

Leviticus 11:44-45 I am the Lord your God; consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am holy. Do not make yourselves unclean by any creature that moves about on the ground. 45I am the Lord who brought you up out of Egypt to be your God; therefore be holy, because I am holy.

Deut. 32:4 He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.

 Joshua 24:19 Joshua said to the people, “You are not able to serve the Lord. He is a holy God; he is a jealous God. He will not forgive your rebellion and your sins.

1 Samuel 2:2 “There is no one holy like the Lord; there is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.

1 Samuel 6:20 and the men of Beth Shemesh asked, “Who can stand in the presence of the Lord, this holy God? To whom will the ark go up from here?”

1 Chron. 16:10 Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice.

Job 6:10 Then I would still have this consolation– my joy in unrelenting pain– that I had not denied the words of the Holy One.

 Psalm 5:4 You are not a God who takes pleasure in evil; with you the wicked cannot dwell.

Psalm 18:30 As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the Lord is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in him.

 Psalm 22:3 Yet you are enthroned as the Holy One; you are the praise of Israel.

Psalm 30:4 Sing to the Lord, you saints of his; praise his holy name.

Psalm 92:15 proclaiming, “The Lord is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

Proverbs 9:10 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.

Isaiah 6:3 And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty;the whole earth is full of his glory.”

Isaiah 40:25 “To whom will you compare me? Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One.

Isaiah 43:15 I am the Lord, your Holy One, Israel’s Creator, your King.”

Isaiah 52:10 The Lord will lay bare his holy arm in the sight of all the nations, and all the ends of the earth will see the salvation of our God.

Isaiah 57:15 For this is what the high and lofty One says– he who lives forever, whose name is holy: “I live in a high and holy place, but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite.

 Ezekiel 39:7 ” ‘I will make known my holy name among my people Israel. I will no longer let my holy name be profaned, and the nations will know that I the Lord am the Holy One in Israel.

Hosea 11:9 I will not carry out my fierce anger, nor will I turn and devastate Ephraim. For I am God, and not man– the Holy One among you. I will not come in wrath.

Habakkuk 1:13 Your eyes are too pure to look on evil; you cannot tolerate wrong. Why then do you tolerate the treacherous? Why are you silent while the wicked swallow up those more righteous than themselves?

Luke 1:49 for the Mighty One has done great things for me– holy is his name.

John 17:11 I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name–the name you gave me–so that they may be one as we are one.

Hebrews 12:10 Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness.

Hebrews 12:28-29 Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, 29for our “God is a consuming fire.”

James 1:13-14 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed.

1 Peter 1:15-16 But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; 16for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”

1 John 1:5 This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.

 Rev. 4:8 Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under his wings. Day and night they never stop saying:

“Holy, holy, holy

is the Lord God Almighty,

who was, and is, and is to come.”

Rev. 6:10 They called out in a loud voice, “How long, Sovereign Lord, holy and true, until you judge the inhabitants of the earth and avenge our blood?”

” ‘I will make known my holy name among my people Israel. I will no longer let my holy name be profaned, and the nations will know that I the Lord am the Holy One in Israel.

Leave a Reply

